much news, much news

March 2, 2009

Well, well, lots of exciting theatre news for me this weekend.  One piece of news for every day, in fact.  We’ll go chronologically.

On Friday I signed on the wonderful Johnathan Hayward, eminent historian and fabulous theatrical personality, as dramaturg for my play in process, The Fear Project.*  I am very excited about this.  I’ve been interviewing and doing research for several months now, and have been kind of getting overwhelmed with just how much information is actually out there.  Johnathan Hayward graduated from Westmont with me with a degree in history, as well as a good bit of experience on Westmont Theatre’s stage.  So he’s definitely got both the proclivity for research and love for theatre that I need for this project.  Plus he’s just an all-around good guy, and I’ve been looking an excuse to do some kind of project with him for a while.  So I think this will be a very fruitful collaboration.  Look for more news about the project as it develops.

mueveme1On Saturday I went to see a wonderful new play by Diana Small up at Westmont, Muéveme, Muévete.  This is the first time that a Westmont student has written a production for Westmont’s main stage, which speaks to Ms. Small’s prodigious talents.  It was commissioned by Mitchell Thomas specifically to reach out to Santa Barbara’s Hispanic community, and thus is written bi-ligually, within the genre of magical realism.  Westmont’s little cast handled its challenges quite nicely, with lots of stand-out performances.  I really enjoy Diana’s writing style and way of looking at the world, and I really hope I’ll get to work more with her in the future.  At least I did, until Sunday.

On Sunday I received a phone call from John Blondell, professor at Westmont and artistic director of Lit Moon Theatre Company.  He has invited me to act in the next two shows Lit Moon is working on: first, an adaptation of “Rumpelstiltskin” that will be going up sometime in the late summer, and second, a musical sci-fi comedy based on “The First Men in the Moon” by H.G. Wells, which will be part of Lit Moon’s World Theatre Festival this fall.  Both of them seem like uproarious fun, and both will be written by Diana Small, which means I get my wish. :)

So it’s looking like it’s going to be a very busy and exciting year for me.  Goody, goody.

____________

*That’s a working title.  I’ve been meaning to do an entry on that project for a while now, but the (very) short version is that it’s a documentary theatre piece about people’s fears, nightmares, and phobias, and why fear is such an inexplicable and inexorable force.

4 Responses to “much news, much news”

  1. jhistorian said

    oh cool! congrats on the two Lit Moon projects…sounds awesome. and you can’t go wrong with Diana Small writing the plays.

  2. tnteditor said

    Way to go, Case! We’re excited about the two Lit Moon plays…keep us posted.

  3. Lynne said

    Congratulations! That’s super exciting! I know you will have a lot of fun on those projects.

Leave a Reply

